Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
Until now I am using in built-In Windows Explorer the free, open source external CopyHandler "ExtremeCopy" which is available from here:
https://github.com/kevinwu1024/ExtremeCopy
resp.
http://www.easersoft.com/
I am very satisfied with it since it is very reliable and fast for copying huge (!) directory trees and files (>20 GB) over inhouse network and (partially slow) remote connections.
So I prefer to use it in XYplorer as well.
Unfortunately XYplorer seems not to automatically detect the presence of this additional copyhandler on the local Windows OS and does not add it to the context menu of folders and files.
How can I achieve this?
https://github.com/kevinwu1024/ExtremeCopy
resp.
http://www.easersoft.com/
I am very satisfied with it since it is very reliable and fast for copying huge (!) directory trees and files (>20 GB) over inhouse network and (partially slow) remote connections.
So I prefer to use it in XYplorer as well.
Unfortunately XYplorer seems not to automatically detect the presence of this additional copyhandler on the local Windows OS and does not add it to the context menu of folders and files.
How can I achieve this?
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
Did you look in the 64bit context menu? (it's an item in the context menu "Show 64bit .....") else you can try installing the 32bit version, otherwise you need to get Easersoft to fix it on their end to work with XY, alternatively if it accepts commandline options you may (untested) be able to integrate it in the External Copy Handlers section of XY config (by tricking it and using a supported product as the caption, which you can read about in XY help file for more info, like most things)
edit: Having first assumed you would have done a forum search yourself I didn't bother before my above post, as an afterthought I did and found this topic: viewtopic.php?p=155839#p155830 maybe in the future you could try searching too.
edit: Having first assumed you would have done a forum search yourself I didn't bother before my above post, as an afterthought I did and found this topic: viewtopic.php?p=155839#p155830 maybe in the future you could try searching too.
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
The trick with "Show 64bit..." works.
It shows at least the ExtremeCopy context menu.
I will check later if ExtremeCopy works successfully
Thank you
It shows at least the ExtremeCopy context menu.
I will check later if ExtremeCopy works successfully
Thank you
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: 10 May 2022 21:43
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
Does XYplorer works with Goodsync or Gs Richcopy360 like ExtreamCopy?
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
Nope
One of my scripts helped you out? Please donate via Paypal or paypal_donate (at) stdmail (dot) de
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
I use FastCopy as an external handler and love it. It integrates fine with XY. I added it years ago, probably following the Help or the post ref'd by Jupe above.phillip-Gamni wrote: ↑10 May 2022 21:46 Does XYplorer works with Goodsync or Gs Richcopy360 like ExtreamCopy?
https://fastcopy.jp
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
I know this is an old post, but if you are sill using fastcopy, would you mind to share the code you entered at: Configuration/File Operations/External Copy Handlers/ConfigureMalarki wrote: ↑23 May 2022 00:39I use FastCopy as an external handler and love it. It integrates fine with XY. I added it years ago, probably following the Help or the post ref'd by Jupe above.phillip-Gamni wrote: ↑10 May 2022 21:46 Does XYplorer works with Goodsync or Gs Richcopy360 like ExtreamCopy?
https://fastcopy.jp
Thanks!
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
Very sorry that it's taken me more than a month to see your question. I normally check this board weekly at least.
Also sorry to report that in the External Copy Handlers Config I have nothing specified! So I don't know how XY is finding FastCopy! It's been so long since I set that up and can't recall what I did. It isn't in the XY .ini file either.
I hope you've figured it out in the meantime. FastCopy is great.
Also sorry to report that in the External Copy Handlers Config I have nothing specified! So I don't know how XY is finding FastCopy! It's been so long since I set that up and can't recall what I did. It isn't in the XY .ini file either.
I hope you've figured it out in the meantime. FastCopy is great.
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
Thanks for looking into it!
I haven't been able to figure out a solution yet.
I'm going to give it another try during this weekend, and if I can't succeed, I'll create a new topic about this. Maybe someone will know.
I haven't been able to figure out a solution yet.
I'm going to give it another try during this weekend, and if I can't succeed, I'll create a new topic about this. Maybe someone will know.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 59751
- Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
- Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
- Contact:
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
This is my test configuration. I know it worked once. I did not test it though for a long time since I use XYplorer for all copying.
Code: Select all
FastCopy - Command Line|E:\VB-Don\CopyCommand\CopyCommand.exe|/copy|/move
FastCopy (AutoClose)|%ProgramFiles%\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe|/auto_close
FastCopy (Verify)|%ProgramFiles%\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe|/verify /auto_close
TeraCopy (Rename All)|%ProgramFiles%\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe|/RenameAll
TeraCopy (Overwrite Older)|%ProgramFiles%\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe|/OverwriteOlder
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 59751
- Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
- Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
- Contact:
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
Maybe you turned off Custom Copy and FastCopy is configured to take over the jobs from Shell copy.Malarki wrote: ↑04 Jan 2024 00:52 Very sorry that it's taken me more than a month to see your question. I normally check this board weekly at least.
Also sorry to report that in the External Copy Handlers Config I have nothing specified! So I don't know how XY is finding FastCopy! It's been so long since I set that up and can't recall what I did. It isn't in the XY .ini file either.
I hope you've figured it out in the meantime. FastCopy is great.
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
That would explain it, and the way it operates; thanks.Maybe ... FastCopy is configured to take over the jobs from Shell copy.
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
This worked, and I've found out it was all perfectly described in the help as well. Sorry for asking.admin wrote: ↑06 Jan 2024 14:40 This is my test configuration. I know it worked once. I did not test it though for a long time since I use XYplorer for all copying.Code: Select all
FastCopy - Command Line|E:\VB-Don\CopyCommand\CopyCommand.exe|/copy|/move FastCopy (AutoClose)|%ProgramFiles%\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe|/auto_close FastCopy (Verify)|%ProgramFiles%\FastCopy\FastCopy.exe|/verify /auto_close TeraCopy (Rename All)|%ProgramFiles%\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe|/RenameAll TeraCopy (Overwrite Older)|%ProgramFiles%\TeraCopy\TeraCopy.exe|/OverwriteOlder
So now I got FastCopy working, but it seems that FastCopy doesn't even ask what I want to do on name collisions, merging folders, etc.
The main reason why I was trying to use FastCopy instead of XYplorer CustomCopy was because of the Queue operations. If I start a copy while another one is in progress, there is no indicator that the second copy is in the queue. This becomes problematic when I'm queuing 5 operations.
However, I was just reading this thread, and it seems that this shouldn't be happening, and it's not the normal behavior for XYcopy: viewtopic.php?p=206235&hilit=queue+copy#p206235.
In the thread, they are mentioning a LIST and a way to start a second job from that list.
In this thread there is also a mention of a background job list: viewtopic.php?p=206234&hilit=queue+copy#p206234
I don't have any list showing while queuing copies. Is there any setting for that?
- Attachments
-
- 2024-01-10 07_58_46-T__VFX-DMNA_001-100_DMNA_010_0080_Dirt_Wagon_Jacket-Blanket_Comp_2_prerenders - .png (75.85 KiB) Viewed 159 times
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
I just copied my xyplorer folder from appdata/roaming to desktop and restarted xyplorer with defaults settings.
I turned on custom copy and background operation.
Still not seeing a queue list.
Is there such thing or am I assuming wrong from those posts?
I turned on custom copy and background operation.
Still not seeing a queue list.
Is there such thing or am I assuming wrong from those posts?
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 59751
- Joined: 22 May 2004 16:48
- Location: Win8.1 @100%, Win10 @100%
- Contact:
Re: Use external CopyHandler (ExtremeCopy) as default for copy/move operations?
Tick Window | Show Status Bar Buttons.
Then enable Background Processing and Queue File Operations and Pause the queue. Here this is done using the right-click menu of the Custom Copy toolbar button (not that below Pause Queue there is Background Jobs..., selecting this will show the same list as shown here below). You now should see a button in the Status Bar: Click that button to see (the still empty) list:
Then enable Background Processing and Queue File Operations and Pause the queue. Here this is done using the right-click menu of the Custom Copy toolbar button (not that below Pause Queue there is Background Jobs..., selecting this will show the same list as shown here below). You now should see a button in the Status Bar: Click that button to see (the still empty) list:
FAQ | XY News RSS | XY Twitter